top of page


Brunswick Junior Football Club is affiliated with Brunswick NOBSPC, who play in the Victorian Amateur Football League (VAFL) and the Brunswick Renegades Womens’ AFL club.

Together, we are committed to working together as One Club, the Brunswick Football Club. Brunswick Football Club was an AFL club that played in the Victorian Football Association (VFA) from 1897 until 1991. Based in Brunswick for most of their time in the Association they were originally known as the Magpies and wore black and white guernseys.

The home of the Dragons is the historic A.G. Gillon Oval. The ground is named after Alexander George ‘Alex’ (or ‘Alec’) Gillon (23 December 1909–25 August 2007) was a civic and sporting administrator. He was most notable as the longest serving president of the Victorian Football Association, and as a Mayor of the City of Brunswick. For his services to the Brunswick Football Club and the Brunswick Council, the Brunswick Football Ground was renamed the A. G. Gillon Oval in his honour in early 1976.

Children of Brunswick players posing infront of the Gillon Oval grandstand in 1908

Children of Brunswick players posing in front of the old grandstand at Gillon Oval in 1908

Opening round of a VFA matching in 1976

Opening round of a VFA match between Brunswick and Coburg at Gillon Oval on Sunday 18th April 1976.


Brunswick Dragons started as a one-team club in 2010 and has since evolved to be a club consisting of 18 teams with more than 300 players across boys, girls and mixed teams from under 8s to Colts level.


Over our relatively short history, the Brunswick Dragons have won six premierships.


2012/13: Premierships 1 & 2

Our first premierships came with back-to-back U12 & U13 flags in 2012 and 2013.


This highly talented group included current male club games record holder, club life member and current AFL player (with Geelong 2021-2022 & Port Adelaide 2023), Francis Evans, and three-time YJFL Best and Fairest winner (along with a 2nd and 3rd place on the trophy shelf) Daniel Mott.


2019: Premiership #3

Our next premiership came from the 2019 Colts team.


Our Colts team demolished the home and away seasons with 13 wins from their 14 games, and included the talented YJFL 2019 Colts Best and Fairest winner, Aaron Tsarouhas.

2021: Premierships 4 & 5

Our fourth and fifth premierships were awarded to our U13 Purple and U16 teams in 2021, during a COVID interrupted season.


Our U13s were ably led by YJFL B&F 2nd place getter, club B&F winner, Riley Wilton, and YJFL representative players, Cristian Athanasopoulos and Ruben Powell.

Our U16 premiers also had a great year, and included YJFL Best and Fairest winner Samuel McIlroy and YJFL representative squad member Jonah Allen.


Premiership 6

In 2022 the Brunswick Dragons won its first girls’ premiership. This was also our first division 1 flag! Without the numbers for a full team, our Youth Girls joined forces with Fitzroy under player permits across both division 1 and division 3 teams. Both teams made the grand final, but it was the division 1 team that won the flag.


Ellie Sbeghen had a great year as a bottom ager, playing representative footy, while Chloe Haritopoulos capped off her graduating year in junior footy by winning the YJFL Best & Fairest winner and making the YJFL team of the year. Chloe is our female club games record holder, club life member, and coach of the 2023 U16 Girls.

bottom of page